Parent County/Boundary Changes:


1785 - Thirty-three counties were created within existing South Carolina Districts. Abbeville County was created within Ninety-Six District.

1800 - Abbeville was re-christened a district and Ninety-Six District was abolished.

1868 - Abbeville and all other districts became counties.

1897 - Greenwood County was created from Abbeville and Edgefield Counties.

1898 - Greenwood County gained from Abbeville and Edgefield Counties.

1916 - McCormick County was created from Abbeville, Greenwood, and Edgefield Counties.